top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSean Taylor

Vanguard

I’m Erwin and this is my message to the world.


It was the year 2077 and a warmer than normal day in Vanguard and it was just me and my sister me and my sister Carla. We had an older brother but we haven’t seen him in years. We were out getting food to bring to my mother at home. While we were walking back home from the grocery store we heard many people whispering things we thought nothing of because it happens all the time since our parents are the head doctors in our town which means we are pretty famous compared to other people. But, while I walked past a child I heard her say “is that the boy whose parents just died” when I heard my face turned dark and moody. I grabbed my sister and ran home to find my parents in white bags being taken away and from that day changed my life forever. I used to be a well-rounded happy person but I lost my will to live and the only thing I wanted to do is kill, kill the person who took everything away from me and Carla.

I started to work out a lot to make my body strong and ready to train for the secret service so that I could become better at combat to fight my parent’s killers. I trained so much that they stopped calling me Erwin and started calling me the black cat because of how much I worked out at night and how fast I was. But, about 4 years after I started training someone told me a secret the military has been keeping from me about what happened to my parents and the truth was that no one in my town did it. It was somebody from far away who was posing as one of us. Apparently, he’s a different race of people even though they said we were the only ones who survived the great war. This means it will be harder for me and my sister to avenge my parents because the government is trying to cover it up and make fewer people know about it.


We went rogue shortly after this we called ourselves the panthers we gathered a group of strong and trusting people to go rogue with Me, my sister, my friend Elijah and his brother Levi after the military found out about this and got our names we were wanted all across Vanguard. We planned to steal an airship and head over the walls to find the other faction's city or whatever they have. This would not be an easy task some of us may even die but In the end, I will find out who killed my family and I’ll send them straight to where they belong.

The day came when it was time to steal the airship and escape. We all prepared our guns, did a group prayer, and headed out. We arrived at the scene and saw 4 guards outside and Carla distracted them while Elijah and Levi took them all out with 4 bullets. We then moved inside to look for the ship we predicted it would be at the top of the base since it was built into a big mountain but we were wrong it was built into the mountain with only one exit for it. Which made our task harder. Even so, we kept moving forward taking soldiers out one by one until the worst happened. Carla got hit…… she got hit badly. This made my heart sink to the deepest part of my body. I dove towards my sister and picked her up and ran for cover. I stood back with my sister and Elijah and Levi kept pushing forward to the airship they were known as elite soldiers back in the day so I assumed I could trust them.


I started to focus on my sister who was crying and became very pale. I ripped one of my sleeves off and wrapped it around her torso and pressed it to stop the bleeding. She was crying uncontrollably knowing this might be the end for her. I kept my tears back to try and keep her calm but in the back of my head, I knew that this might be the last time I see Carla alive. As I was caring for Carla I heard something loud and big and to my surprise, it was the airship with Elijah and Levi in it. They landed and picked me and Carla up. The Airship had medical supplies but it wasn't a guarantee that Carla would live through this. But, we had hope something we’ve never had before.

Once we started flying and got far enough from Vanguard we went East. We went east because Elijah said whenever he was on base he saw only higher-ups go and come from that area. If you were not a commander or up you would be punished for even stepping foot over there. So we went east, we were searching for some city or civilization completely off of a hunch. We had no idea how long it would take us to get there or how we were gonna find the people who killed my mother and father. But, since they were in the military it made it easier to find where they lived and stayed.


“Wake up…. Wake up…. Erwin wake the hell up”. I woke up to Elijah screaming in my face as he said we made it and dragged me to the front of the ship where Levi and Carla were. she was still injured and the bandage around her torso was still bloody. At first, I couldn’t believe it but when I looked outside there it was a huge city with tall buildings and cars everywhere I’ve never seen a car in person. I just knew they were popular before the great war happened. We knew the hard part was gonna start soon but we didn’t know how soon that’s when we heard a single gunshot, and we started to descend fast. We all ran for the parachutes and I strapped my sister with me even though I knew it was gonna really hurt her stomach. I just had to make sure she was safe. We all jumped at the same time and started diving headfirst for the most speed. We were racing against the clock we were being shot at and the airship was above us falling down. That’s when another airship pulled in front of us and a familiar face waved us in when we got closer I almost cried out of joy it was Eren my brother Eren.


When we landed he told us about how he was undercover here and heard that someone from Vanguard was gonna shoot down so he decided to help his fellow army members and it turned out to be us. He also told us that he found out who killed our parents and is plotting to kill him. His name was Reiner Arlet, captain of the military. And, he said that we have two options: either we sneak in his base and kill every guard till we make it to Arlet or we sneak into his ranks. I chose to just kill everyone because I was filled with rage and wanted everyone that supported him dead but I would soon regret this decision. We planned to attack the next day. This day would be the day that took what was left of my sad life away from me.


We arrived at the camp 10 minutes before midnight because this is when they had fewer guards. We took the first 2 guards at the interest out with our suppressed pistols and continued into the base. He was in a tent a little into the base. We killed every guard up to the commander's room as I was walking up. I just couldn’t get the thought that this was all too easy. But, when we opened the tent he was sitting there waiting for us. It seemed perfect until I heard two shots and Levi and Elijah dropped to the ground both of them dead shot in the back of the head. Blood was rushing out of their heads and this is when I realized I made the worst decision of my life and regretted coming here. For some reason, they just left me, my sister, and my brother and they started to beat us senseless until I just wanted them to kill me and end it. I was in so much pain I had to see my sister getting beat to the point I could not recognize her and my brother screaming for mercy. After they tortured us they locked us up and put us on death row. We were war criminals and they made us tell the secrets of Vanguard's military so they could slowly wipe out my nation In prison, they do not let me see my sister or brother and they torture us and laugh every day that’s probably why they spared us they wanted us to die slowly and feel tons of pain before our eyes shut and never re-open. The only reason I’m able to know if they are alive is when I hear them scream when they are being beaten. Put, soon I’ll be released from this Hell and let into the afterlife I hope God can forgive my sins but if I do end up in Hell it will just be usual to me.

Sincerely, Erwin






24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page